FEMA Adds Seven Counties for Transitional Sheltering Assistance; 26 Counties Now Eligible


BRANDON, Fla. – FEMA has expanded Transitional Sheltering Assistance (TSA) to seven additional Florida counties: Brevard, Glades, Hendry, Monroe, Okeechobee, Palm Beach and Pasco.

With the addition of these counties, 26 counties are eligible for TSA, which provides temporary hotel stays for Hurricane Ian survivors who cannot remain in their storm-damaged homes.

Counties previously included in TSA are Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Flagler, Hardee, Highlands, Hillsborough, Lake, Lee, Manatee, Orange, Osceola, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Sarasota, Seminole, St. Johns and Volusia.

FEMA will notify eligible applicants through an automated phone call, text message and/or email, depending upon the method of communication they selected when they applied for assistance.

Under the TSA program, FEMA pays the cost of room, taxes and non-refundable pet fees directly to participating hotels and motels. Survivors are responsible for all other costs, including laundry, room service, parking, telephone, food, transportation and other services.

Continued eligibility is determined on an individual basis. When eligibility ends, Survivors will be notified by FEMA seven days prior to checkout date.

TSA is limited to participating lodging properties in Florida, Alabama, and Georgia.

Survivors can apply online for FEMA assistance at disasterassistance.gov, on the FEMA mobile app or by calling the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362, which is open every day from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. ET. Help is available in most languages. If you use a relay service, such as video relay (VRS), captioned telephone or other service, give FEMA the number for that service.

For the latest information on Florida’s recovery from Hurricane Ian, visit floridadisaster.org/info and fema.gov/disaster/4673. Follow FEMA Region 4 (@femaregion4) / Twitter and at facebook.com/fema.